Picture
When Victor came upon my ship and was telling his story, he had been my only friend. The friend I had been wanting all my life. And when he became ill I was very upset but there was not much I could do about it. I tried to make him as comfortable as possible and he had asked me to do one thing for him. And that was to kill the monster before he did anymore harm. He had become so close with me and opened up to me. That is all that I had ever wanted. I guess I felt that it was my duty to fulfill his one last dying wish. At first I had been skeptical and didn't know how to go about doing this. But then the monster came to me. I went into where Victor's dead body had been lying, and there he was, standing over him. I could not believe my eyes. He was actually sad when Victor had died. He had been playing this game with him for so long, that is what he was trying to do. They were going to continue the chase before someone had died. And now that it really happened he couldn't believe. He felt horror and grief. He wanted to leave the vessel but I entered the room. He was about to go out the window, but I wanted him to stay. I wanted to ask him why he felt that way. I couldn't believe that after everything he had done to Victor and his family, willingly, that he still felt bad. He had no right to be angry when Victor died because he was the main reason that he had died. The monster told me that if Victor wasn't here, his creator, then he shouldn't be either. Basically that he was going to lie in his own grave and let mother nature take over. The last thing I saw of him was him climbing out the window onto a big chunk of ice and floating away, into the dark sky. I don't really know exactly what happened to him, but I think that he probably just let himself fade away and die. 



Andy Schoenborn
1/11/2013 12:33:30 am

Hi Rikki,

It looks like you've found your stride with these posts. I especially like that you take the time to fully explain and explore the ideas from the perspective of Robert Walton at the end of the novel.

Reply



Leave a Reply.